The Secrets You Hide – my news!

I’m embarking on a life of crime… yes, my first thriller, as Kate Helm, is going to be published by the wonderful Bonnier Zaffre. 

 

The Secrets You Hide is set in the strange, dark world of Georgia Sage, who draws murderers and victims for a living. She’s a court artist: talented, isolated and driven to right wrongs. I didn’t plan to write a thriller, but somehow she got under my skin and I had to tell her story…

Toasting the deal – me and my fab new crime fiction editor, Sophie Orme.

Here’s the press release:

Sophie Orme, Editorial Director at Bonnier Zaffre acquired world English language rights for The Secrets You Hide and one other book from Hellie Ogden at Janklow & Nesbit UK, to be published under the Zaffre imprint.

Georgia Sage is a courtroom artist who uses her skills to help condemn those who commit terrible crimes. But when she is drawn back into the trial that defined her career, a case of twisted family betrayal, something happens that threatens not only her career – but even her own sanity. At first, she fears her guilt around the events of her terrible childhood is finally coming back to haunt her. The truth turns out to be even more terrifying…


Kate Helm says:

 ‘I had the chance to pitch the book to Sophie before it was even finished, and her enthusiasm and ideas about the concept spurred me on. So I couldn’t be more excited that she and the brilliant team at Bonnier Zaffre are now going to publish my first thriller. It feels like fate.

I covered landmark criminal trials when I worked as a TV journalist, and that question of whether you could see if someone is guilty by observing them has fascinated me ever since. I loved creating a character whose job is to convey the drama of a trial, but whose own agenda and secrets come to dominate, and even pervert justice.’

Sophie Orme says:

‘I am thrilled to bring Kate Helm to the Bonnier Zaffre list. The Secrets You Hide is an utterly compelling thriller featuring a central character in a fascinating and unique role – that of a court artist. Kate’s crime debut is a knock out read for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Apple Tree Yard.

 

The Secrets You Hide is set to publish early 2019.

Artist Photo by Svetlana Pochatun on Unsplash